What have you learned from your audience feedback?
We posted our video on YouTube and Facebook so people could comment and also asked a few people from our class to make comments. Most people only said it was good so I asked what improvements could be made. ‘You could use more locations’ one person said so if we had to do it again we would spend more time filming and research into locations more. Also I could have spent more time on the ending because I rushed it due to the deadline. ‘You could of got a more realistic costume or painted your self black XD’ another person said but obviously I’m not going to paint myself black but I could have got a better mustache. ‘You could have been more enthusiastic’ I could have done a better performance if we filmed on a warm day.
One person said, "It's very good, just is this a parody video?" While we agree it can be seen as a parody video, with the overblown costume and the effects, while we were making the video this was not our intention, as we were expecting it to come out a lot more serious, and more as an homage not as a joke, because we did not want to disrespect Hendrix or overdo the joke side of it. But when we watch it back, we do end up laughing, so in the end the product has become more parodic than serious but we still believe it is an homage. We see it as a pastiche of late 60s/70s music videos because the costume is so over blown and the location is natural and reminiscent of footage of areas where hippies would camp or their festivals.
Another said, "the effects are good, but they could've been trippier." Yes we believe they could have been a lot more trippier but because we again did not have enough time in the end to make them more elaborate. My own feedback is that if we had more time we could have used a much bigger variety of filters and also we could have made them go in time with the music. Also we could have done more shots for each location I was in such as more close ups and long shots.
We were told the video quality was “quite poor” and that the camera was sometimes “shaky”, with the camera quality we were unable to do anything about the quality because the camera we used was old in comparison to newer camera’s so the quality issues were not our fault, and if we had more time we would have used more effects to make the picture quality look much better than it could be. The camera was shaky because some of the shots required us to do it handheld, so it was practically our fault if it ends up very shaky. We did try to mask the shakiness by speeding up the shots we used which did work because, unless you look very carefully it doesn’t appear to be shaky at all.
No comments:
Post a Comment